Next Week in Shostakovich

Among other site improvements, I’ll eventually have to put up my working copy of the exhaustive work list, to offer some look-ahead as well as show my progress.  Not much progress yet.  I haven’t exactly tallied up what I expect to listen to, but Shostakovich’s opus numbers run up to 147, and I’m at 11 right now; plus there are the works sans opus to account for.

At any rate, next week continues with a couple more piano pieces, a symphony that isn’t precisely a symphony, and a full-length opera about a man whose nose becomes a civil servant.  And then, if I get that far, Shostakovich’s singular but successful jaunt into the Great American Songbook.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

